The 6th Annual One-Minute Play Festival: America Is . . .

Posted on April 04, 2017

The One-Minute Play Festival

The Atlanta One-Minute Play Festival (#1MPF) returns to Actor’s Express for its seventh year. Plays will explore America and Atlanta in 2017 in the wake of the Presidential election. The marathon evening of one-minute plays by more than 60 of Atlanta’s established and emerging playwrights and directors is two nights only, Sunday, April 9 and Monday, April 10, 2017 at Actor’s Express, 887 West Marietta St, NW. Tickets will be $20 and may be purchased online at or by calling 404-607-7469.

The 6th Annual One-Minute Play Festival: America Is . . . will feature brand new one-minute plays by Suehyla el-Attar, Nicole Adkins, Mark Steven Brown, Lisa Brathwaite, Nick Boretz, Amber Bradshaw, Hannah Church, Paris Crayton III, Greg Carraway, Jessica DeMaria, Peter Dakutis, Ralph Del Rosario, Johnny Drago, Paul Donnelly, Phillip DePoy, Rachel Graf Evans,  Edith Freni, Rachel Frawley,  Neeley, Gossett, Kate Guyton, Daniel Guyton, Dani Herd, Megan Hayes, Sarah Hodges, Annie Harrison, Sandra Hodge-Hampton, Michael Henry Harris, Laura King, Hank Kimmel, Jake Krakovsky, Emily Kleypas, Nicole Kemper, Lee Lyons, Seth Langer, Joshua Mikel, Patrick Morgan, Tuwanda Muhammad, Amina S. McIntyre, Sarah Beth Moseley, Addae Moon, Laura Meyers, Grant McGown, Lee Nowell, Lee Osorio, Theroun Patterson, Jordan Pulliam, Sherri Sutton, Rebecca Suellau, Marki Shalloe, Mike Schatz, Travis Sharp, Ricardo Soltero, Chris Schulz, Pamela Turner, Jasmine Waters, Pat Young, Jacob York, and Steve Yockey.

Directors include Will Amato, Amber Bradshaw, Carolyn Choe, Hillary Heath, Damian Lockhart, Grant McGowen, Joi E. Porter, Anna Richardson, and A. Julian Verner.

“We are thrilled to celebrate seven years of #1MPF in Atlanta and we are proud to see our programing and the reach of our work diversifying – between our festivals of women-identified artists, The Every 28 Hours Plays, and the traditional 1MPF work that we are using to investigate what America and Atlanta in 2017 post-election America looks like,” comments #1MPF Artistic Director Dominic D’Andrea. “The opportunity to gather the community of artists, activists, and citizens and focus on ways that we might begin to design the world we want to live in is a beautiful and necessary action. I’m proud of the community, our partners at Actor’s Express, and the stunning nuance of the work we’ve generated together.”

ABOUT The One-Minute Play Festival

The One-Minute Play Festival (#1MPF) is America’s largest and longest running grass roots theatre company, founded by Producing Artistic Director, Dominic D’Andrea . #1MPF is a social barometer project, which investigates the zeitgeist of different communities through dialogue, consensus building, and a performance of 50-100 short moments generated by each community. #1MPF works in partnership with theatres and/or social organizations sharing playwright, educational, or community-specific missions across the country. The aim is to create locally sourced playwright-focused community events, with the goal of promoting the spirit of radical inclusion. #1MPF represents playwrights of different age, gender, race, cultures, and points of career. The work attempts to reflect the theatrical landscape of local artistic communities by creating a dialogue between the collective conscious and the individual voice.


In each city, #1MPF works with partnering organizations to identify programs or initiatives in each community to support with the proceeds from ticket sales. The goal is to find ways give directly back to the artists in each community. Supported programs have ranged from educational programming, youth poetry projects, theatre program in prisons, playwright residencies and memberships, playwrights salaried commissions, community access projects, arts workshops, and other social and artistic initiatives.


Annual partnerships have been created with theaters in over 20 cities including: New York, Los Angeles, San Francisco, Chicago, Trenton, Atlanta, Philadelphia, Washington, D.C., Baltimore, Boston, Miami, Minneapolis, New York, Seattle, Dallas, Austin, Indianapolis, Anchorage, Honolulu, St. Louis and more, with partnering institutions including Primary Stages, Oregon Shakespeare Festival, New Georges at New York City Center, Z-Space, A.C.T., Trinity Rep, Victory Gardens Theater, Cornerstone Theatre Company, The Playwrights Foundation, Boston Playwrights Theatre, Actor’s Express, InterAct Theatre, Mixed Blood, Walking Shadow Theatre, Passage Theatre, Phoenix Theatre, Kitchen Dog Theatre, Salvage Vanguard & ScriptWorks, ACT Seattle, Perseverance Theatre, Round House Theatre, Honolulu Theatre For Youth, and others.  


Notable #1MPF contributors have included: David Henry Hwang, Lynn Nottage, Neil LaBute, Tina Howe, Donald Margulies, Nilaja Sun, Tarell Alvin McCraney, Robert Schenkkan, Lydia Diamond, Phillip Kan Gotanda, Kristoffer Diaz, Rajiv Joseph, Samuel D. Hunter, Karen Hartman, Robert Askins, Colman Domingo, José Rivera, Craig Lucas, Mike Daisey, Greg Kotis, Michael John Garcés, and over 1,400 celebrated, emerging, and midcareer playwrights.  For more information visit: